Hard Water In US

What Are the Levels of Hard Water In United States?


Hard water contains high levels of calcium and magnesium elements. Therefore, such water requires high amount of detergents in order to make it suitable for domestic usage. Also, the water requires to be passed through different processes of water softening at domestic, municipal, county, or state grounds in order to make it suitable for usage by the residents of an area.

Water Hardness In US

In the US, different states have different types of water regarding the level of hardness. Some states have very hard water that requires to be passed through intensive water softening process. Over 80% people in the US access hard water which needs to be softened in different ways.

This implies that over 40 states in US require water softening services regularly. On the other hand, other states have soft water or less hard water which can be simply used at home or locally softened through a cheap and affordable process.

Levels of Hard Water In US?

Levels of Hard Water In USWater hardness is ranked according to the level of calcium and magnesium elements content in it. Thus, it is categorized into levels such as: slightly hard water, moderately hard water, hard water, and very hard water. The following is guide on the level of water hardness in different states of America.

1) Slightly Hard Water

This is the water that contains 1 to 3.5 grains per gallon. Slightly hard water should not exceed 3 to 3.5 grains per gallon. Such water does not require intensive water softening measures. It can be easily softened at home using chemical or water softener devices. Some of the states with slightly hard water include: Louisiana, Alabama, Mississippi, Washington, Oregon, Arkansas, Georgia, Tennessee, and parts of Oklahoma.

2) Moderately Hard Water

It contains 3.5 to 7 grains per gallon. This water can be softened using home water softener devices. However, it requires to be softened by county government in order to prevent risks in case of domestic softeners failures. States with moderately hard water include: New Orleans, parts of Washington, Oregon, and California, Missouri, parts of Oklahoma, Wyoming, Tennessee, Kentucky, parts of New York and Philadelphia.

3) Hard Water

Levels of Hard Water In USThis type of water contains 7 to 10 grains per gallon. Hard water requires intensive water softening both at public and domestic levels. It is normally passed through water softening systems and devices in order to eliminate hardness ions. States with hard water include: parts of Washington, California, Oregon, Colorado, Texas, Missouri, Michigan, and Virginia.

4) Very Hard Water

This water contains 10 and above grains per gallon. Such water requires intensive water softening techniques such as substitution of ions and mechanical elimination of magnesium and calcium ions from the water. This water is normally softened at the country level before it is re-softened again at the domestic level.

Many states including: Minnesota, North Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Nevada, Colorado, Iowa, Wisconsin, Illinois, and Missouri, California, Utah, New Mexico, and Nebraska have this type of water in different parts or in the entire region of the states.


Different states in US have different types of water regarding its hardness level. Others have mixed types of water. Therefore, if you are not sure of the hardness level of the water in your area, it is important that you seek for water hardness testing from the state health department near you.

Leave a Reply